APC, Fayemi wins Ekiti election with 197,462 votes



Governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the Saturday July 14, 2018 governorship poll, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, has won the Ekiti State governorship election with close margin.

He won in 12 out of the 16 local government areas of the state, to defeat the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Prof Kolapo Olusola, who won in four local government areas.

The election witnessed a large turnout of voters and early arrival of the ad hoc staff and supervisors of INEC at polling units.

Voting materials arrived early in many polling units across the state while voters conducted themselves in an orderly fashion during accreditation process.

Mr Olusola is the incumbent deputy governor of the state and was hoping to succeed his boss, Ayodele Fayose, who had campaigned vigorously for him.

The results of the election mark a remarkable rebound for Mr Fayemi, who as the incumbent governor, was emphatically defeated four years ago by Mr Fayose.

Though the election was generally peaceful across the state, there was substantial reports of vote-buying by supporters of both political parties. There were also few cases of ballot box snatching.

Mr Fayemi is now set to be announced winner of the election by the electoral commission, INEC.

The results of the 16 local governments have been officially announced by INEC, which is however, still doing the final collation.

  1. APC-13,869
  2. Ijero LG
  3. Ido OSI LG
  4. Oye LG
  5. Ilejemeje LG
  6. Efon Alaye LG
  7. Moba LG
    APC- 11,837
    PDP- 8,520
  8. Ikole LG
    APC- 14,522
    PDP- 13,961
  9. Gboyin
    APC – 11,498
    PDP- 8,027
  10. Emure LG
    APC – 7,048
    PDP- 7,121
  11. Ikere LG
    APC- 11,515
    PDP- 17,183
  12. Ekiti West LG
    APC- 12,648
    PDP- 10,137
  13. Ise/Orun LG
    APC- 11,908
    PDP- 6,297
  14. Ekiti Southwest LG
    APC- 11,015
    PDP- 8,423
  15. Ekiti East
    APC- 12,778
    PDP- 11,564
  16. Ado LG
    APC- 28,111
    PDP- 32,810
  17. Total votes
    APC- 197,462 winner
    PDP- 177,927