Home » namibia » List of all the presidents of the Republic of Namibia

List of all the presidents of the Republic of Namibia

Namibia is a country located in southern Africa. The Republic of Namibia is the official name of the country. The president of Namibia is the head of state and chief executive officer of Namibia, elected by popular vote every five years.

First president: Sam Nujoma

Namibia’s first president was Sam Nujoma, who led the country from its independence in 1990 until 2005. Nujoma was a key figure in Namibia’s liberation struggle and is highly respected by Namibians. He remains an active member of the ruling party, the South West African People’s Organization (SWAPO).

Second President: Hifikepunye Pohamba

Namibia’s second president was Hifikepunye Pohamba, who served from 2005 to 2015. Pohamba was also a member of SWAPO and oversaw a period of economic growth and stability in Namibia.

Third President: Hage Geingob

The third president of Namibia was Hage Geingob, who assumed office in 2015. Geingob is a member of the Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA), which is the main opposition party in Namibia. Geingob has pledged to continue his predecessor’s policies of economic growth and development.

Presidents Term Details

The Namibian presidency is a largely ceremonial office, with executive power vested in the Namibian prime minister. The president represents the nation both domestically and internationally and is the head of state of Namibia. The current president is Hage Geingob, who was elected in 2014.

Namibia’s presidents are elected by popular vote for a five-year term. If the president dies in office, resigns, or is removed from office, the vice president assumes the presidency.


It is fascinating to look back at the history of Namibia and see all the different presidents that have led the country. Each president has brought their unique perspective and set of skills to the table, helping to shape Namibia into the thriving nation it is today. We are proud of all our past presidents and we hope that future generations will continue to build on their legacy.