Home » Others » List of army barracks

List of army barracks

Army barrack is where soldiers or army personnel who are ready to defend the territorial integrity of Nigeria are resident and carry their day-to-day training. It is also known as an army base, where arms and munitions are stored across the different geographical regions of Nigeria.

The Nigerian army is governed by the Nigerian Army Council (NAC). It is the largest unit of the Nigerian Armed Forces. Other components include the Navy and the Air Force.

Brief history of Nigerian Army

Nigeria’s independence led to the emergence of the Nigerian army. Initially, its operations were under the control of the Royal West African Frontier Force which was a formidable field force formed By the British Colonial Office. It was after the hard-fought independence that it became Nigerian.

Duties of the army

  1. To defend the land borders of the country 
  2. To defend or deter external aggression
  3. To restore peace within if needed especially during an insurgency
  4. To fight and restore peace within ECOWAS states if needed to do so

Benefits of army barracks

  1. They separate the soldiers from the rest of the population.
  2. It serves as a training ground for soldiers.
  3. it serves as arms and munitions depot

List of barracks in Nigeria according to geographical locations

I have worked assiduously to separate this list based on different geographical locations. This is to enable folks to get acquainted with the regions and to gauge the number of barracks around the city they live in.

South East

  1. Abakpa Barracks: Located in Enugu capital in Enugu State. It is the 82 Division of the Nigerian Army in Enugu state
  2. Awkunanu Barracks: Located in Akwunanu town in Enugu State
  3. Onitsha Barracks: Located in Zik’s Roundabout Junction Onitsha

 South West

  1. 174 Battalion, Nigerian Army barrack, Odoguyan Ikorodu, Lagos state
  2. 22 Armoured Brigades, Sobi Barracks, Ilorin
  3. 323 Artillery Brigade, Army Barracks, Military Base, Akure, Ondo state
  4. Alamala Barracks, Abeokuta, Ogun state
  5. Ashanti Barracks in Ajegunle, Lagos state
  6. Beho Beho Barracks: Located in Lagos, Lagos State
  7. Abalti Barracks in Surulere, Lagos: Headquarters of the Army ordinance Corp
  8. Army Barracks in Ede, Osun state
  9. Arakan Barracks in Apapa, Lagos state
  10. Beho Beho in Apapa Lagos
  11. Dodan Barracks: Located in Logos Off Awolowo Road, Ikoyi Lagos state
  12. Ikeja Barracks: Located in Ikeja, Lagos. Also known as Ikeja Cantonment
  13. Lafenwa Barracks: Also called Nyangoa Barracks, Lafenwa, Abeokuta in Ogun State
  14. Letmauk Barracks in Oyo in Ibadan state
  15. Oyo, Mokola Military Barracks, Oyo state
  16. Ojo Barracks: Located in Tedi Villa in Lagos. Also referred to as Ojo Cantonment
  17. Odogbo Barracks: Located in Ibadan. Headquaters of the 82 Division of the Nigerian Army in Ibadan
  18. Marda Yaba Lagos: Located in 346 Herbert Macaulay Street Yaba, Lagos
  19. Mogadishu: Located in Abuja. Also known as Barracks Abacha
  20. Okitipupa Barracks: Located in Okitipupa Ondo State. Also called Naquora Army Barracks, 19 Battalion
  21. Tego Barracks: Located on Bonny Street, Badia Lagos

 North East

  1. 33 Artillery Brigades Barracks, Bauchi state
  2. Artillery Brigades Barracks, Minna
  3. Dalet Barracks: Located in Kawo in Kaduna, Kaduna State
  4. Giwa and Maimalari Barracks in Maduiguru, Borno state
  5. Kalapanzin Barracks in Kaduna state. Aka Artillery Regiment, Kaduna
  6. Obienu Barracks, Bauchi state
  7. Ribadu Cantonment in Kaduna
  8. Kotoko Barracks is located in Kaduna, Kaduna State

South South

  1. Bori camps: Located in Port Harcourt (Igwuocha) in Rivers state
  2. Adaka Boro Barracks: Located in Elele in Rivers state
  3. Calabar Barracks: Also known as Akim Army Barracks in Calabar Cross River State
  4. Ejoor Barracks. It is in Effurun, Warri state.
  5. Ekenwan Barracks. Located in Ovia North, Benin City
  6. Goodluck Jonathan Barracks, Ohafia, Delta state
  7. Warri Military Barracks in Warri, Delta state
  8. Calabar Barracks

North West

  1. Bukavu Barracks: Located in the city of Kano, Kano State. Also referred to as 3 brigades, Nigerian Army
  2. Chindit Barracks: Located in Zaria, Kaduna State
  3. Katsina Barracks: Located in Jibia Road Katsina

North Central

  1. Fort IBB in FCT, Abuja
  2. Fort Nagwamatse Barracks in Kantagora, Niger state
  3. Gado Nasko Barracks in FCT, Abuja.
  4. Keffi Barracks/Shittu Alao Barracks: Located in Jos-Abuja Road in Keffi Nasarawa State
  5. Markurdi Barracks. Also known as Nasme Barracks, Makurdi in Benue State
  6. Rukuba barracks. It is in Rukuba in Jos in Jos. Later renamed as Maxwell Khobe Cantonment, Rukuba
  7. Yakubu Gowon Barracks in FCT, Abuja
  8. W.U Bassey Barracks in FCT Abuja
  9. Aguiyi-Ironsi Barracks in Asokoro Abuja

Francis Uzoh

He writes for Naijadazz.