Home » Education » The full list of courses offered in IMSU

The full list of courses offered in IMSU

The Imo State University, located in Owerri was established in 1981 and it has over 11 faculties and lots of departments in the undergraduate and postgraduate level.

Asides the full time and part-time programme it has, there is also provision for other sandwich programmes with the aim of meeting the educational needs of people.

Accredited by the NUC, the schools’ motto is “Excellence in Service and the Vice-Chancellor is Prof. Adaobi Obasi.

If you on the verge of choosing a school to enrol in; you need to first know what courses are being offered in the school which would help you decide if you should opt for that choice.

The courses offered in the school according to their faculties are listed below:

Faculty of agriculture and veterinary medicine

  • Economics, Extension & Rural Dev.
  • Animal science and Fisheries
  • Crop Science And Biotechnology
  • Soil Science and Environment
  • Crop Science and BioTechnology

Faculty of business administration

  • Management
  • Hospitality and Tourism Management
  • Marketing
  • Accountancy
  • Banking and Finance
  • Insurance and Actuarial Science

Faculty of education

  • Arts Education
  • Physical Science Education
  • Life Science Education
  • Language Education
  • Library and Information Science
  • Foundation and Counselling
  • Education and Psychology
  • Education and Mathematics
  • Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • Education and Geophysics
  • Education and Fine and Applied Arts
  • Education and Economics
  • Education and Accounting
  • Educational Foundation
  • Educational Administration

Faculty of engineering

  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Food Science & Technology
  • Mechanical Engineering

Faculty of environmental science

  • Surveying & GeoInformatics
  • Architecture
  • Building
  • Urban and Regional Planning
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Fine & Applied Arts
  • Estate Management

Faculty of health science

  • Optometry
  • Medical Laboratory Science
  • Nursing Science
  • Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Zoology
  • Botany
  • Medical Laboratory Science

Faculty of humanities

  • Religious Studies
  • French
  • History and International Studies
  • Philosophy
  • Theatre arts
  • Linguistics and Igbo
  • English language and Literary Studies

Faculty of law

  • Law

Faculty of science

  • Animal Science and Environmental Biology
  • Plant Science and Biotechnology
  • Physics/ Industrial Physics
  • Chemistry/Industrial Chemistry
  • Microbiology/Industrial Microbiology
  • Biochemistry
  • Mathematics
  • Statistics
  • Computer Science

Faculty of medicine and surgery

Health Sciences:

  • Medical Laboratory Science
  • Optometry and Nursing Sciences.


  • Anatomy
  • Physiology
  • Medical Biochemistry
  • Community Medicine
  • Medical Microbiology/ Parasitology
  • Chemical Pathology
  • Morbid Anatomy/ Histopathology Haematology and Blood Transfusion Surgery
  • Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • Pediatrics
  • Pharmacology

Faculty of social science

  • Economics
  • Psychology
  • Geography & Environmental Management
  • Political Science
  • Sociology
  • Mass Communication

Kindly note that these courses have their different requirements and demands so to know more about them, click here.

Priscillia Peters

This article was written by Priscillia Peters.