Home » Education » Full list of courses offered in OAU

Full list of courses offered in OAU

oau-ife-coursesThe Obafemi Awolowo University situated in Ile Ife was established alongside three other universities between 1961 and 1962. The school was renamed after one of our founding fathers, Chief Jeremiah Obafemi Awolowo in 1987.

The university began with just five faculties namely Agriculture, Arts, Economics and Social studies (now Social Sciences), Law and Science but it now has 13 major faculties and 86 departments.

The Vice-Chancellor is Prof. E.O. Ogunbodede.

The vision of the school is to be the top-rated university in Africa and over time, it has indeed lived up to this expectation as many great calibres of personalities have graduated from this institution.

Other institutes found within the university are:

  • The Adeyemi College of Education situated in Ondo
  • Agricultural Research Institute and Training in Ibadan
  • The Natural History Museum
  • The Institute of Ecology and Environmental Studies
  • Gender and Social Policy Studies Centre
  • The Centre for Industrial Research and Development
  • The Institute of Public Health
  • The Institute of Cultural Studies
  • The Technology Planning and Development Unit
  • The Computer Centre
  • The Drug Research and Production Unit
  • The Equipment Maintenance and Development Centre
  • The Central Technological Laboratory Workshop
  • The Central Science Laboratory
  • The Distance Learning Centre

The complete list of courses this great university offers can be found below:

Faculty of Clinical Sciences

  • Anaesthesia
  • Community Health
  • Dermatology and Venereology
  • Medicine
  • Mental Health
  • Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Perinatology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopaedics and Traumatology
  • Paediatrics and Child Health
  • Radiology
  • Surgery

Faculty of Agriculture

  • Agricultural Economics
  • Agricultural Extension and Rural Development
  • Animal Science
  • Crop Production
  • Soil Science
  • Family, Nutrition & Consumer Sciences

Faculty of Dentistry

  • Child Dental Health
  • Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and Oral
  • Pathology
  • Preventive and Community Dentistry
  • Restorative Dentistry

Faculty of Arts

  • Religious Studies
  • Philosophy
  • English
  • History
  • Foreign Languages
  • Fine Arts
  • Dramatic Arts
  • Music
  • Institute of Cultural Studies

Faculty of Law

  • International Law
  • Jurisprudence and Private Law
  • Public Law
  • Business Law

Faculty of Education

  • Education Technology & Library Studies
  • Adult Education and Lifelong Learning
  • Educational Foundations and Counseling
  • Arts and Social Sciences Education
  • Science and Technology Education
  • Educational Management
  • Institute of Education
  • Physical and Health Education

Faculty of Pharmacy

  • Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Administration
  • Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • Pharmaceutics
  • Pharmacognosy
  • Pharmacology
  • Drug Research and Production Unit

Faculty of Environmental Design and Management

  • Fine and Applied Arts
  • Architecture
  • Building
  • Estate Management
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Urban and Regional Planning

Faculty of Sciences

  • Biochemistry
  • Botany
  • Chemistry
  • Geology
  • Mathematics
  • Microbiology
  • Physics
  • Zoology

Faculty of Technology

  • Department of Agricultural and Environmental Engineering,
  • Department of Chemical Engineering,
  • Department of Civil Engineering,
  • Department of Computer Science and Engineering,
  • Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering,
  • Department of Food Science and Technology,
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering,
  • Department of Materials Science and Engineering,
  • African Institute for Science Policy and Innovation, AISPI (Technology Planning and Development Unit; TPDU).

Faculty of Social Sciences

  • Demography and Social Statistics,
  • Economics
  • Geography
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Sociology & Anthropology

Faculty of Basic Medical Science

  • Anatomy and Cell Biology
  • Medical Biochemistry
  • Physiological Sciences
  • Medical Pharmacology and Therapeutics
  • Chemical Pathology
  • Haematology and Immunology
  • Medical Microbiology and Parasitology
  • Morbid Anatomy and Forensic Medicine
  • Nursing Science
  • Medical Rehabilitation

More information on these can be found here.