New ministerial nominees and their profiles

On the 23rd of July, a list of nominees for new ministers was sent to the National House of Assembly, Aso rock for screening and acceptance. This list was prepared for the incumbent president of Nigeria, President Mohammadu Buhari. The list consisted of a total of 43 persons – 14 former ministers and 29 new ministers as listed below:

list of ministers in nigeria

  1. Ogbonnaya Onu; he was appointed Minister of Science and Technology in 2015 during Buhari’s first regime. He is an indigene of Ebonyi state.
  2. Adamu Adamu (Bauchi); he is the present Minister of Education pending a handover from the office.
  3. Lai Mohammed (Kwara); the popular Lai Mohammed was appointed Minister of Information and Culture in 2015 and has been in the ministry ever since. He has once served as the National Publicity Secretary of the All Progressive Congress in Nigeria.
  4. Geoffrey Onyeama; this Minister of Foreign Affairs hails from Enugu state. He obtained a Masters of Art (M.A) in Law in 1984 from St John’s College, Cambridge.
  5. Osagie Ehanire (Edo); He is a medical doctor by profession, hence the reason for his appointment as Minister of State for Health in 2015.
  6. Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna): this Nigerian accountant was appointed the finance minister in Nigeria following the resignation of the erstwhile minister of Finance, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun in 2015.
  7. Abubakar Malami (Kebbi): The Minister of Justice and Attorney General also made it to the list of returnees. He contested for the 2014 governorship primaries under the APC party but lost to Atiku Bugudu.
  8. Suleiman H. Adamu; the immediate past Minister of Water Resources from Jigawa may continue with the ministry. He was also a former Inspector General of Police.
  9. Chris Ngige; he was the governor of Anambra state as at 2003-2006 and is the immediate past minister of Labour and employment.
  10. Hadi Sirika (Katsina) The immediate past Minister of Aviation is likely to be back to the same ministry.
  11. Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers); the immediate past Minister of Transportation is an expected inclusion on the list.
  12. Babatunde Fashola (Lagos); the immediate past Minister of Power, Works and Housing is expectedly back to continue with projects he initiated in the first term.
  13. Muhammed Bello: He is the immediate past Minister in charge of the Federal Capital Territory and hails from Adamawa state.
  14. Mustapha Baba Shehuri (Borno): he is the former Minister of State for power but may still be retained in the same position.

 The names of newly elected ministers are:

  1. Festus Keyamo (Delta) – Director of Strategic Communications of Buhari’s re-election bid. The human rights activist won the Delta ministerial slot having served as Director of Strategic Communications of Buhari’s re-election bid.
  2. Ukechukwu Ogah: He is the current president of Master’s Energy Group; He also contested against Okezie Ikpeazu during the 2019 gubernatorial election in Abia state.
  3. Emeka Nwajiuba (Imo); he is the current chairman of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND). Nwajiuba was a member of the House from 1999-2003.
  4. Sa’adiya Umar Farouk (Zamfara); she is the present Federal Commissioner of National Commission for Refugees, Migrants and Internally Displaced Persons.
  5. Sharon Ikeazor; hails from Anambra state, she is the current Executive Secretary of Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD).
  6. Godswill Akpabio: He is a former Governor of Akwa Ibom State and was also a contested for a seat in the senate.
  7. Gen. (RTD) Bashir Salihi Magashi; a former Governor of Sokoto State from August 1990 to January 1992 He was a legal adviser for All Nigeria’s People Party (ANPP), as well as a governorship candidate of Democratic People’s Party (DPP) in Kano.
  8. Otunba Richard Adeniyi Adebayo; Richard was the first Executive Governor of Ekiti State from 1999 to 2003.
  9. Timipre Sylva; a former Governor of Bayelsa state and a member of Rivers State House of Assembly in the 1990’s.
  10. Isa Pantami; he hails from Gombe and is presently the Director General and CEO of the National Information Technology Development Agency in Nigeria (NITDA).
  11. Gbemisola Saraki; former Senator representing Asa/Ilorin West Federal Constituency, Kwara state.
  12. Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu; she is the immediate past APC National woman Leader and hails from Yobe state. She may be put in charge of the Ministry of Women Affairs.
  13. Clement Agba; former Edo State Commissioner for Environment and Public Utility for eight years.
  14. George Akume; he is the immediate past Governor of Benue State.
  15. Sunday Dare; a former senior editor with The News Group and hails from Oyo state.
  16. Tayo Alasodura (Ondo); former Senator representing Ondo Central, he was also a former Secretary to Ondo State Government.
  17. Adeleke Mamora (Lagos); The former Senator and Lagos Speaker was recently appointed the Managing Director of the National Inland Waterways Authority (NIWA) in 2018.
  18. Mohammed Abdullahi (Nasarawa); He is the immediate past Secretary to the State Government, Nasarawa State Government.
  19. Ambassador Maryam Katagum (Bauchi); Nigeria’s Permanent Delegate to United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
  20. Sabo Nanono (Kano); she is a retired banker.
  21. Zubairu Dada (Niger);
  22. Pauline Tallen (Plateau); she is a former Minister of State for science and technology during Olusegun Obasanjo regime.
  23. Abubakar Aliyu (Yobe); He is a former deputy governor of Yobe.
  24. Saleh Mamman (Taraba);
  25. Muhammad Mahmoud (Kaduna) – The current Chairman of the Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC) is a former member of the Kaduna House of Assembly and Chairman of the Buhari Support Organisation.
  26. Rauf Aregbesola (Osun); He is the immediate past Osun state and a trained engineer.
  27. Goddy Jedy – Agba (Cross River); former Group General Manager (GGM), Crude Oil Marketing Division (OMD) in NNPC.
  28. Olamilekan Adegbite (Ogun); he was a previous Commissioner for Works and Infrastructure in Ogun State.
  29. Muhammadu Maigari Dingyadi (Sokoto); he is the Chairman of the National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE) governing body.

 At present, the ministerial nominees are yet to be designated to a ministry; they are currently undergoing screening by the Senate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.